Thursday, December 6, 2018

December Release: Excerpt



The Accidental Beauty Queen
by Teri Wilson
On Sale: December 4, 2018
Gallery Books | Trade Paperback Original
ISBN: 9781501197604 | $16.00
E-ISBN: 9781501197611 | $7.99
Audio-ISBN: 9781508283553 | $17.99

In this charming romantic comedy perfect for fans of Meg Cabot and Sophie Kinsella, critically acclaimed author Teri Wilson shows us that sometimes being pushed out of your comfort zone leads you to the ultimate prize. 



Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Review: My Favorite Half-Night Stand by Christina Lauren


By the New York Times bestselling author who “hilariously depicts modern dating” (Us Weekly), My Favorite Half-Night Stand is a laugh-out-loud romp through online dating and its many, many fails.

Millie Morris has always been one of the guys. A UC Santa Barbara professor, she’s a female-serial-killer expert who’s quick with a deflection joke and terrible at getting personal. And she, just like her four best guy friends and fellow professors, is perma-single.

So when a routine university function turns into a black tie gala, Mille and her circle make a pact that they’ll join an online dating service to find plus-ones for the event. There’s only one hitch: after making the pact, Millie and one of the guys, Reid Campbell, secretly spend the sexiest half-night of their lives together, but mutually decide the friendship would be better off strictly platonic.

But online dating isn’t for the faint of heart. While the guys are inundated with quality matches and potential dates, Millie’s first profile attempt garners nothing but dick pics and creepers. Enter “Catherine”—Millie’s fictional profile persona, in whose make-believe shoes she can be more vulnerable than she’s ever been in person. Soon “Catherine” and Reid strike up a digital pen-pal-ship...but Millie can’t resist temptation in real life, either. Soon, Millie will have to face her worst fear—intimacy—or risk losing her best friend, forever.

Perfect for fans of Roxanne and She’s the Man, Christina Lauren’s latest romantic comedy is full of mistaken identities, hijinks, and a classic love story with a modern twist. Funny and fresh, you’ll want to swipe right on My Favorite Half-Night Stand.







My Favorite Half-Night Stand drew my attention from within the first few pages, with Millie’s fascination when she was little. Can’t say many kids are fascinated with serial killer’s, more specifically women serial killers.

I liked that Millie was just one of the guys. But of course Millie really wasn’t letting them in to her personal life. I felt like she was too closed off for someone who was close with these guys. I still liked her though. Reid was also a great main character, I liked how genuine he was. I really do think the authors did an amazing job of creating distinct characters with real characteristics. I always enjoy books where not just the main characters make the story but also those who surround them.

I’ve been a fan of most of Christina Lauren’s novels and this one is no exception. Each is unique but all of them are amazing.

This novel was funny, emotional and steamy.

An advance complimentary copy of this book was supplied by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.




About Author:



Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced fourteen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine, named Amazon and Audible Romance of the Year, and been nominated for several Goodreads Choice Awards. They have been featured in publications such as Forbes, The Washington Post, Time, Entertainment Weekly, People, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography was released in September, followed by a contemporary romance, Roomies in December, and their first Women’s Fiction, Love and Other Words in April.

 Twitter: @lolashoes (Lauren) /@seeCwrite (Christina) 


Thursday, September 27, 2018

Summer Nights by Rachel Van Dyken

SummerNights RB Banner .jpg
Summer Nights by Rachel Van Dyken
Series: Cruel Summer #3
Publication Date: September 27, 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance


Wednesday, September 5, 2018

Review: Josh and Hazel's Guide to Not Dating

Hazel Camille Bradford knows she’s a lot to take—and frankly, most men aren’t up to the challenge. If her army of pets and thrill for the absurd don’t send them running, her lack of filter means she’ll say exactly the wrong thing in a delicate moment. Their loss. She’s a good soul in search of honest fun.

Josh Im has known Hazel since college, where her zany playfulness proved completely incompatible with his mellow restraint. From the first night they met—when she gracelessly threw up on his shoes—to when she sent him an unintelligible email while in a post-surgical haze, Josh has always thought of Hazel more as a spectacle than a peer. But now, ten years later, after a cheating girlfriend has turned his life upside down, going out with Hazel is a breath of fresh air.

Not that Josh and Hazel date. At least, not each other. Because setting each other up on progressively terrible double blind dates means there’s nothing between them...right?




https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/40189670-josh-and-hazel-s-guide-to-not-dating?from_search=true







I’m always excited when I hear about a new novel from Christina Lauren. Every single one is different and surprising. This novel sort of reminded me of a Korean Drama. It was quirky and comical. It’s also written in my favorited point of view, first person.

The authors did a great job of creating wonderful characters. I loved Hazel’s personality, how spunky she was. She is strange and different and she knows it, and doesn’t change for anyone. Josh is amazing. His personality was brought out slowly which I liked. It was like getting to know someone slowly and the more I knew, the more I liked him. He’s caring, protective and accepted Hazel and her strangeness.

I think this novel was a bit slow for me in the beginning but it picked up. Regardless it was still witty and different. It made me laugh, which I love to do in romance novels. I recommend this novel to those who want to read something fun but still romantic.

An advance complimentary copy of this book was supplied by Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are entirely my own.




About Author:



Christina Lauren is the combined pen name of long-time writing partners/besties/soulmates Christina Hobbs and Lauren Billings. The #1 international bestselling coauthor duo writes both Young Adult and Adult Fiction, and together has produced fourteen New York Times bestselling novels. They are published in over 30 languages, have received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews, Library Journal and Publishers Weekly, won both the Seal of Excellence and Book of the Year from RT Magazine, named Amazon and Audible Romance of the Year, and been nominated for several Goodreads Choice Awards. They have been featured in publications such as Forbes, The Washington Post, Time, Entertainment Weekly, People, O Magazine and more. Their third YA novel, Autoboyography was released in September, followed by a contemporary romance, Roomies in December, and their first Women’s Fiction, Love and Other Words in April.

 Twitter: @lolashoes (Lauren) /@seeCwrite (Christina)